IRDC 2013 Driver Improvement Scheme

The International Rally Driver's Club (IRDC) is pleased to announce that it will continue to operate its popular and innovative Driver Improvement Award Scheme on all seven rounds of the 2013 MSA British Rally Championship, not only catering for drivers in the main International category of the series but including drivers taking part in the NGK Sparkplugs BRC Challenge Class for two-wheel drive cars.

Winner of the premier International class of the 2012 scheme was Osian Pryce from Machynllech in Powys co-driven by fellow Welshman Iestyn Williams. Pryce's Citroen DS3 featured in the IRDC scheme's standings on almost every round of the season's six-rally series.

Second placed driver Tom Cave too featured in the top ten of the 2012 scheme's 6 rally results and experienced an unforgettable year with two solid world rally outings with the works Proton team and two overall wins on BRC rallies; co-driven by Craig Parry.

Third in the premier class was 21 year old Mark Donnelly, overall winner of one BRC round and also a regular name on the IRDC driver scheme throughout the season. The Ulsterman's Renault Clio R3 was co-driver by experienced Welshman Dai Roberts.

In the Challenge Class, newly included in the scheme for the 2012 championship, James Watts was the delighted winner with Gareth White in second place and Russ Thompson third.

Once again, the IRDC scheme proved that consistency is the key to winning the initiative, designed to highlight the best improvement in drivers stage performance on gravel and asphalt surfaces.

28th March, 2013