Monte Carlo Historique 2014 Day Four

After the fourth full day of the 17th Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique, two Norwegian crews feature in the top three with the lead currently held by the Norwegian duo of Petter GRANERUD and Stein ROED in a PORSCHE 911 SC sandwiching the Belgian crew of Jose LAREPPE and Lieven DAVID in an OPEL KADETT GTE with fellow Norwegians Tore JOHANNESSEN and Anita SORSTO in third, driving a 1972 PORSCHE 911T 2.2.

It's good to report that all eight of the IRDC club entries are still running with the Peter Humphrey/Graham Couser Volvo P544 highest in the overall classification, in 72nd position. Two hundred and eighty three cars are still classified as running in the rally.

Tuesday January 28th will see competitors start the second part of the Common Leg, which will bring them back to Monaco, followed by some difficult but charismatic stages; Montauban sur l'Ouvèze - Col de Perty - Eygalayes, before the route check-point of Digne-les-Bains in the Alpes de Haute-Provence. Competitors will have to stay focused to face the last two difficult stages at the end of this Common Leg : Clumanc - Tartonne - Lambruisse, a classic of the modern Monte-Carlo Rally and run this year for the first time on the Historique event, followed by Rouaine - Col des Felines - Entrevaux.

After a final stop in la Turbie, all remaining crews will repair to the Port Hercule of Monaco for a few welcome hours of rest before the Final Leg which will include classic stages at Touet de l'Escarène - Sospel - Col de Turini - La Bollène Vésubie, competed for the very first time as regularity and, Lantosque - La Cabanette - Lucéram - Col Saint Roch - Col de Savel - Coaraze; possibly the sting in the rally's tail?

International Rally Drivers Club - Team Entries after 9 stages

Position. Car. Driver / Co-Driver. Car. Start Venue
72. 194 Peter Humphrey / Graham Couser Volvo PV 544 Reims
83. 276 Rick Pearson / Stuart Pringle Lancia Fulvia 1300S Glasgow
103. 299 Joel Wykeham / David Brown Fiat 127 Reims
186. 9 Xerxes Matten / James Aquilina Datsun 240Z Glasgow
220. 1 Andrew McAlpine / Fred Gallagher Morris Cooper S Barcelona
225. 197 Simon Tate / Simon Brown Lancia Fulvia 1600 Stockholm
256. 78 Steve Graham / Tony Graham Lancia Fulvia 1600 Reims
257. 55 Gordon Glen / David Glen Volvo 122S Glasgow

27th January, 2014