Lancia Fulvia wins 2018 Monte Historique

Perusing the eclectic range of cars and the broad international spectrum of competitors that filled the entry of the 21st running of the Monte Carlo Historique rally proved that the true spirit of the original event, first run in 1911, had been truly replicated by its 2018 historic parody, with crews from 8 nationalities filling the top ten overall positions in the final results.

Overall winners were the Italian crew of Gianmaria Aghem and Diego Cumino in a 1200 Lancia Fulvia, a car hardy carrying a surfeit of power for rallying in the Alpes Martimes. Second place was claimed by the Greek team of George Delaportas and Spyros Moustakas in a VW Golf GTI that had been previous rally leaders, and third place fell to the Polish Zastava 1100 of Stanislaw Postawa and Andrzej Postawka, another rally car not troubled by an excess of engine power.

For the record, the best placed IRDC members in 2018 were Zak Matten/Clifford Debeno in a Ford Escort RS 1600 in 43rd position, making them winners of the venerable IRDC Tyresoles Trophy. In second place was the sibling crew of Nick and Peter Moss 78th overall in their BMW 2002 TI and in third place Peter Barker with vastly experienced co-driver Peter Scott, 125th overall in a Triumph TR4. In the team contest, the 2 five-car IRDC teams finished 14th and 24th out of 25, this prestigious category won by the Italian Equipe Scuderia Milano Autostoriche, which included the overall rally winners. There were 259 rally finishers and 41 retirements.

13th February, 2018