IRDC - BRC 2011 Driver Improvement Scheme

After round 3 of the prestigious MSA Dulux Trade British Rally Championship, The Pirelli International, the league table for drivers in the IRDC's popular Performance Award Scheme shows 27 year old Daniel Barry currently leading.

Driving an independently run Mitsubishi Lancer R4 in the premier class and co driven by Rory Kennedy, Daniel is one of the many northern Irish drivers in this year's BRC, travelling from Enniskerry, County Wicklow.

Second place in the scheme is held by Peter Taylor from Carlisle, the twenty year old driving an independently run Ford Fiesta in the F2 category and third is Craig Breen, also driving Ford Fiesta as part of the M Sport team from Cockermouth in Cumbria, currently holding 2nd place in the F2 category of the BRC championship.

Prominent in the current top ten list of drivers in the IRDC scheme is the 2009 winner Jonny Greer, currently 3rd overall in the MSA championship driving a Skoda Fabia R4 and 2010 winner Molly Taylor driving a newly acquired Ford Fiesta in the F2 category.

The objective of the IRDC scheme is to find the best improvement in driver performance on gravel and asphalt, factored on careful analysis of stage time improvement, assessed on a rally by rally basis and producing a cumulative overall winner after the 7-rally 2011 MSA series.

For 2011, the innovative IRDC scheme includes ALL registered drivers, meaning that there is no requirement for competitors to register for the scheme once competing in the BRC championship; drivers are automatically included in the performance award scheme.

Next event on the championship calendar is the 160 mile Jim Clark International rally based at Kelso Racecourse and the first asphalt challenge for competitors in the 2011 series taking place 27th/28th May.

Positions in the 2011 IRDC Driver Improvement Scheme
Shown after round 3 - Pirelli International

1. Daniel Barry
2. Peter Taylor
3. Craig Breen
4. Jonathan Greer
5. Molly Taylor
6. David Bogie
7. Mikko Pajunen
8. Callum Black
9. Jussi Kumpumaki
10. Elfyn Evans

17th May, 2011