Loeb and Citroen unbeatable in Finland

Sometimes superlatives seem meaningless when winning becomes the norm but let's not underestimate Sebastien Loeb's achievement in winning the Neste Oil Rally Finland for a third time. In doing so he beat his Citroen team-mate and local hero Mikko Hirvonen, following the decisive second pass through the ultra-fast and legendary Ouninpohja stage.
Loeb, an eight-time winner of the FIA World Rally Championship, led the rally from Thursday's opening stage and drove virtually without fault to land his sixth win of the 2012 season in the Citroen DS3 WRC he shares with co-driver Daniel Elena.
Citroen team-mates Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen finished second with Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila the top Ford crew in third place.
P-G Andersson clinched FIA Super 2000 World Rally Championship honours for PROTON with Welshman Elfyn Evans coming out on top in the FIA WRC Academy.

4th August, 2012