Osian Pryce wins IRDC Driver Award

After 6 gruelling rounds of the British Rally Championship, final analysis of IRDC scheme's complex performance matrix shows that nineteen year old Osian Pryce from Machynllech in Powys is the 2012 winner of the innovative Driver Improvement Scheme. Co-driven by fellow Welshman Iestyn Williams, Pryce's Citroen DS3 has featured in the IRDC scheme's standings on almost every round of the six-rally series. The 2011 Fiesta SportTrophy UK winner is now targeting a full-time rally driving career, ultimately competing at World Rally Championship level.

Similarly, the second placed driver too has featured in the top ten of the scheme's 6 rally results. Tom Cave has had an unforgettable year with two solid world rally outings with the works Proton team and two overall wins on BRC rallys. Co-driven by the redoubtable Craig Parry, Tom has also had to cope with the loss of his ever-supportive father Peter earlier in what's proved to be a season of very mixed emotions for the 21 year old Aberdovey man.

Third in the scheme is 21 year old Mark Donnelly, overall winner of one BRC round and also a regular name on the IRDC driver scheme throughout the season. The Ulsterman's Renault Clio R3 has been co-driver by experienced Welshman Dai Roberts.

The IRDC's Driver Improvement scheme is based on the performance improvement as compared between events and stage times and not overall finish results.

The IRDC will present the winners of the Driver Improvement Scheme with their trophies at the traditional BRC Awards Ceremony, a formal celebratory dinner held on 17th November 2012 at Manchester's Hallmark Hotel. At this ceremony the winners of the MSA British Rally Championship, NGK Spark PLugs BRC Challenge and BRC one-make series will receive their awards and the evening is always a cracking event with silverware presented each side of a three course meal, culminating in the crowning of the 2012 MSA British Rally Champion driver and co-driver. Tickets for this popular event are open to anybody but are restricted to 250 on a first come first served basis. For more information: www.rallybrc.co.uk

2012 Driver Improvement Scheme
1. Osian Pryce
2. Tom Cave
3. Mark Donnelly

11th October, 2012