Korhonen wins second BRC round

Jukka Korhonen and Marko Salminen hung-on for a two second victory on the Jim Clark Rally, round two of the MSA British Rally Championship. Their overnight lead remained intact when Saturday's first damp and slippery stage was cancelled on safety grounds, but a spin on stage eight saw the crew drop to within the grasp of the chasing pack, headed at that point by Tom Cave & Ieuan Thomas.

Korhonen so nearly fell into Cave's clutches and by the penultimate test the gap was down to just a tenth of a second. But with a last gasp effort, the Finn made it two wins on the trot on a surface that he had previously disliked.

Cave's four fastest stage times in the Morris Lubricants DMS CitroŽn just weren't enough at the end, but he managed to hold off the charging Osian Pryce & Dale Furniss, who closed to within ten seconds by the last run through Langton's famous spectator stage.

Osian's event just got better and better, posting a pair of fastest times on stages 12 and 13 to cement a fine third place on what was a fast, furious and ultra-competitive blast through the Scottish Borders lanes.

CitroŽn UK continues to dominate the MSA British Manufacturers Championship and the prestigious CitroŽn Racing Trophy UK results and point's tables followed those of the overall event and championship, the top six locked out by the DS3. McKenna took top Fiesta SportTrophy points and moves to within two of RÝkland, while the Twingo Renaultsport R1 Trophy UK is a tie between Mckay and Threlfall.

1. Jukka KORHONEN/Marko SALMINEN - Citroen DS3
2. Tom CAVE/Ieuan THOMAS - Citroen DS3
3. Osian PRYCE/Dale FURNISS - Citroen DS3
4. Alastair FISHER/Gordon NOBLE - Citroen DS3
5. Jonathan GREER/Jonny HART - Citroen DS3
6. Mark DONNELLY/Dai ROBERTS - Citroen DS3
7. Daniel Mc KENNA/Arthur KIERANS - Ford Fiesta R2
8. Callum BLACK/James MORGAN - Citroen DS3
9. Peter TAYLOR/Andrew ROUGHEAD - Citroen DS3
10. Chris INGRAM/Stephen McAULEY - Renault Twingo R2 Evo

2nd June, 2013