Josh Moffett wins Circuit of Ireland Rally

Irishman Josh Moffett, co-driven by John Rowan won the second round of the MSA British Rally Championship after a weekend of attrition on the famous Circuit of Ireland. No fewer than four drivers held the lead during the two-day event, but the 23-year-old mastered the Belfast-based event in his Ford Fiesta R5 to claim a 27 second margin over Jonathan Greer and Kirsty Riddick in their Citroen DS3 R5. David Bogie and Kevin Rae made it three marques in the top three as they rounded out a Pirelli podium clean sweep in their Skoda Fabia R5. Welshman and IRDC member Tom Cave over came gear box gremlins in his Fiesta R5 to score a solid fourth place while Jamie Anderson put in a fine drive to round out the top five in a similar Fiesta R5.

The championship leaders Elfyn Evans and Craig Parry; fresh from their opening round success in Mid Wales, drew first blood on the opening stage, leading the event by six seconds before doubling their advantage on the second. Retirement was to follow on stage three as the auxiliary belt let go on the DMACK Ford Fiesta R5. Restarting under super rally rules, the WRC stars showed their class with four fastest overall stage times on Saturday before retiring again, this time after an accident. Evans still leads the Championship by 20 points

Top Ten Championship Positions after two rounds:-

1 Elfyn Evans 50
2 Josh Moffett 30
3 Jonathan Greer 18
4= Tom Cave 18
4= David Bogie 18
6 Fredrik Ahlin 15
7 Jamie Anderson 6
8 Euan Thorburn 6
9 Rhys Yates 5
10 Matt Edwards 4

10th April, 2016