Ahlin wins BRC Round 3

Fredrik Ahlin and Morten Erik Abrahamsen driving for local team CA1 Sport, made it three different winners from the opening three rounds of this year's MSA British Rally Championship with victory on this weekend's Pirelli Carlisle Rally. The 24-year-old in his Pirelli-shod Ford Fiesta R5 became the first Swedish driver since 1995 to win a round of Britain's premier rallying series. Along with the win, Ahlin played his 'Joker' which doubled his points allowing him to overtake rival Elfyn Evans at the top of points standings. He now holds a five-point advantage after the Cumbrian event.

Local driver Matthew Wilson returned to the series to take second overall while Evans, who initially led the event, suffered a puncture on the opening day plummeting him down the leaderboard. The World Championship star, though, fought his way back up the order to make it three Ford Fiesta R5s in the top three, ensuring three tyre manufacturers - Pirelli, Michelin and DMACK - all shared the podium spoils.

In the DMACK Junior British Rally Championship it was to be a close fought battle between three drivers in three different car marques. Sindre Furuseth in his Renault Twingo R2 returned to the series after missing the Circuit of Ireland and the Norwegian led initially but suffered a puncture on the first day. Stopping to change it, he lost too much time to be in the podium tussle, with fifth

Pos .... Driver .... Time
1 Fredrik Ahlin 1:05:15.6
2 Matthew Wilson 1:05:43.2
3 Elfyn Evans 1:05:46.7
4 Tom Cave 1:06:08.8
5 Martin McCormack 1:06:39.0
6 Jonathan Greer 1:07:10.2
7 Desi Henry 1:08:32.6
8 Neil Simpson 1:08:36.3
9 Jamie Anderson 1:08:48.2
10 Max Vatanen 1:09:02.8

1st May, 2016