Elfyn Evans Wins Ulster Rally and BRC

With one round of the revitalised 2016 British Rally Championship still to run, Elfyn Evans and co-driver Craig Parry have won 2016 MSA British Rally Championship title by scoring victory on last weekend's John Mulholland Motors Ulster Rally. The DMACK British Rally Team crew made it four wins from six events in Britain's premier rallying championship in their Ford Fiesta R5.

Ulsterman Jonathan Greer, in a Citroen DS3 R5, claimed second, whilst Scottish driver David Bogie took the final step on the podium in his Skoda Fabia R5 on the legendary Ulster Rally which took competitors on 48.62 competitive miles on the first day and 85.24 miles on the second, totalling 133.86 miles through the daunting lanes of Northern Ireland. Heavy rain on both days made the tarmac greasy, creating difficult tyre choices for the crews.

The Ulster Rally also marked a special anniversary as Elfyn's success comes twenty years on since father Gwyndaf won the same title on the Ulster Rally back in 1996. Elfyn becomes the 38th different name on the BRC trophy after a dominant season, picking up four wins along with a third place on the Pirelli Carlisle - the Circuit of Ireland providing the only blot on his copy book as a mechanical retirement forced him out of the event lead.

After the rally Elfyn Evans said, "The event was really tough, in fact it was probably the toughest of the season with the weather changing all the time, stage conditions changing constantly, it was difficult to keep up with everything and do the job in hand. After making a few wrong tyre choices yesterday we played it safe and erred on the side of caution on the second day to make sure we held our advantage and take the win. It feels pretty good to win the BRC title. We had hoped it was possible to wrap-up the title on the Ulster but in rallying anything can happen so we still needed to finish in a certain position and be in front of Tom [Cave] and Fredrik [Ahlin]. To combine it with a win is very special and it's nice to be going home with the championship, especially 20 years since my Dad [Gwyndaf Evans] won the title on this event. It just hasn't sunk in yet, it is amazing. It is a huge team effort from family, friends, the team, everything just clicked and it has been a very good year. We couldn't have asked for much more!"

The final round of the 2016 British Rally Championship is the Manx Rally on the Isle of Man 15/17 September and offering double points. Every driver has to drop one score and all Joker nominations have now been played.

Results - MSA British Rally Championship Round 6 - Ulster Rally

1. Evans (GBR)/Parry (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 2:11:15.4
2. Greer (GBR)/Riddick (GBR) Citroen DS3 R5 +1:25.4
3. Bogie (GBR)/O'Reilly (IRL) Skoda Fabia R5 +2:00.4
4. Cronin (IRL)/Galvin (IRL) Citroen DS3 R5 +2:07.4
5. McCormack (GBR)/Moynihan (IRL) Skoda Fabia S2000 +4:31.9
6. Moffett (IRL)/ Rowan (IRL) Ford Fiesta R5 +5:53.7
7. Yates (GBR)/ Woodburn (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +5:55.4
8. Cave (GBR)/ Morgan (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +6:54.3
9. Edwards (GBR)/ Rogers (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +7:09.7
10. Laffey (GBR)/ Roughead (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +10:24.7

MSA 2016 British Rally Championship for Drivers points after 6 of 7 rounds.

1: Elfyn Evans 135 (Champion)
2: Tom Cave 74
3: Jonathan Greer 66
4: Fredrik Ahlin 65
5: Josh Moffett 52
6: David Bogie 36
7: Desi Henry 29
8: Marty McCormack 18
9: Rhys Yates 17
10: Jamie Anderson 16

23rd August, 2016