Fredrik Ahlin Wins BRC Round 1 for Skoda

Round one of the prestigious 2017 Prestone MSA British Rally Championship was won by Fredrik Ahlin and co-driver Torstein Eriksen after an emphatic victory on the Brick & Steel Border Counties Rally following nine stages to open Britain's premier rallying series. Last years BRC runner-up Tom Cave had led after the first day and eventually finished in a solid second place co-driven by James Morgan with fellow Fiesta crew Osian Pryce & Dale Furniss in third.

This season's Prestone MSA British Rally Championship has been eagerly-anticipated, with a star-studded entry list descending on the small Scottish border town of Jedburgh for the first round comprising of nine stages and more than 55 miles for the 33 registered crews, fighting for supremacy on the challenging gravel stages of southern Scotland.

Prestone MSA British Rally Championship Round 1 Brick & Steel Border Counties Rally Results

1. Fredrik Ahlin (SWE)/Torstein Eriksen (NOR) Skoda Fabia R5 53:01.6
2. Tom Cave (GBR)/ James Morgan (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +0:38.6
3. Osian Pryce (GBR) / Dale Furniss (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +1:07.4
4. Keith Cronin (IRL) / Mikie Galvin (IRL) Ford Fiesta R5 +2:02.2
5. Rhys Yates (GBR) / Carl Williamson (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +3:08.8
6. Matt Edwards (GBR) / Darren Garrod (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +3:14.5
7. Jamie Anderson (GBR)/ Ross Whittock (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +3:21.3
8. Jonathan Greer (GBR)/ Kirsty Riddick (GBR) Citroen DS3 R5 +3:27.2
9. Euan Thorburn (GBR)/ Paul Beaton (GBR) Ford Fiesta R5 +3:27.2
10.Oscar Solberg (NOR) / Patrik Barth (SWE) Ford Fiesta R2T +7:36.2

Prestone MSA British Rally Championship Drivers Standings

1.Fredrik Ahlin 25
2.Tom Cave 22*
3.Osian Pryce 15
4.Keith Cronin 12
5.Rhys Yates 10
6.Matt Edwards 8
7.Jamie Anderson 6
8.Jonathan Greer 4
9.Euan Thorburn 2
10.Oscar Solberg 1

20th March, 2017