Bogie wins Scottish BRC Round 3

The third round of the Prestone MSA British Rally Championship went right down to the wire on the final stage of the final day before local hero David Bogie and co-driver Kevin Rae won the RSAC Scottish Rally 19-20 May. Bogie had enjoyed a battle throughout with the fellow Skoda Fabia R5 driver Fredrik Ahlin until the Swedish driver was forced out of the event with a damaged radiator. Osian Pryce and Dale Furniss claimed second in their Ford Fiesta R5, while Marty McCormack and David Moynihan took third place on the podium.

Over 74 demanding gravel-miles awaited the BRC crews and the opening night was two passes of the Mount Joe stage with Tom Cave and James Morgan finishing with a 9.9 second overnight advantage in their Hyundai i20 R5. Not so lucky were Matt Edwards/Darren Garrod in their Ford Fiesta R5, the Hankook-backed pair set an impressive fourth-quickest time on the opening run before a large rock broke a suspension strut and wheel, putting them out of contention, but then Cave was forced out of the lead for the second event in a row, this time with a broken wheel, making the fight for the lead a two-horse race between CA1 Sport team-mates Ahlin and Bogie.

Descending rain made tyre choice extremely difficult on the gravel stages, but Bogie was a man on a mission on the afternoon loop of stages, reducing the deficit to 1.4 seconds with two speed tests remaining. A stage later and he had turned the tables, to lead Swedish star Ahlin by 0.1 seconds going into the final 8.11km showdown. Ahlins luck, however, would run out halfway through the stage when a rock made its way into the front of the Skoda, bursting a hole in the radiator. It was game over for the championship leader and Bogie rolled into the finish in the town centre to a huge round of applause. David had won his first BRC event since his championship-winning year in 2011.

Prestone MSA British Rally Championship Round 3

1. David Bogie/Kevin Rae Skoda Fabia R5 1:09:47.1
2. Osian Pryce/Dale Furniss Ford Fiesta R5 +0:48.5
3. Martin McCormack/David MoynihanSkoda Fabia R5 +1:01.9
4. Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin Ford Fiesta R5 +1:09.9
5. Desi Henry/Liam Moyinhan Skoda Fabia R5 +2:13.4
6. Euan Thorburn/Paul Beaton Ford Fiesta R5 +2:34.5
7. Jamie Anderson/Ross Whittock Ford Fiesta R5 +8:06.6
8. Donnie Macdonald/Shanks Ford Fiesta R5 +8:39.8
9. Alex Laffey/Patrick Walsh Ford Fiesta R5 +9:33.9
10. Cameron Davies/Carron Tomlinson Peugeot 208 R2 +10:58.8

Prestone MSA British Rally Championship after round three

1.Fredrik Ahlin 55
2.Osian Pryce 51
3. Martin McCormack 30
4. David Bogie 25
5. Keith Cronin 24
6.Tom Cave 22
7. Rhys Yates 18
8. Matt Edwards 18
9. Jamie Anderson 16
10= Desi Henry 10
10= Euan Thorburn 10

21st May, 2017