Keith Cronin wins BRC Ulster Rally

Three time BRC champion Keith Cronin and co driver Mikie Galvin claimed victory on round six of the Prestone MSA British Rally Championship the John Mulholland Ulster Rally 18/19 August. The Irish pairing took their second win of the season in their M-Sport Ford Fiesta R5 to set up an exciting title fight ahead of the season curtain call on the Isle of Man.

Finishing second on the Ulster Rally was Fredrik Ahlin and co driver Torstein Eriksen in their Skoda Fabia R5, their best finish on a Tarmac event. Rounding out the BRC podium was local crew Marty McCormack and navigator David Moynihan Fabia R5 who clinched their third rostrum of the season.

The Ulster Rally provided two days of enthralling action around Derry & Londonderry after crews were waved off by the mayor of the city under the shadow of the Guildhall. Over 130 miles of slippery, bumpy and narrow Tarmac lanes faced the BRC crews, providing a spectacle as the championship fight took another step forward to its end of season showdown. Torrential rain showers added an extra ingredient into the opening days proceedings before wet, but drying stages played host to the second and final day of action.

Fredrik Ahlin and Torstein Eriksen had enjoyed a battle with Osian Pryce but once the Welshman dropped from the leaderboard, Fredrik was the only man left to challenge an on form Cronin. Setting top three stage times all weekend, Ahlin proved himself to be an all round driver after a strong display on the Irish Tarmac. Second place in Ulster makes the 2017 championship his to lose and he is ready to fight Cronin on the Isle of Man for the title.

Prestone MSA British Rally Championship Round 6 John Mulholland Ulster Rally
Top Ten Positions
1. Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin Ford Fiesta R5
2. Fredrik Ahlin/Torstien Erikson Skoda Fabia R5 +54.7s
3. Marty McCormack/David Moynihan Skoda Fabia R5 +2:25.5s
4. Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan Skoda Fabia R5 +2:55.2s
5. Alex Laffey/Patrick Walsh Ford Fiesta R5 +8:17.9s
6. William Creighton/Liam Regan Peugeot 208 R2 +12:35.3s
7. Oscar Solberg/Patrik Barth Ford Fiesta R2T +22:25.5s
8. Josh Cornwell/Tom Woodburn Ford Fiesta R2 +24:00.3s
9. David White/Matthew White Ford Fiesta R2 +30:13.5s
10. Alex Waterman/Harry Thomas Ford Fiesta R2 +31:12.7s

Prestone MSA British Rally Championship Standings (Drivers) after round six

1. Fredrik Ahlin 106
2. Keith Cronin 74
3. Osian Pryce 66
4. Martin McCormack 57
5. Matt Edwards 54
6. Rhys Yates 46
7. Jamie Anderson 39
8. David Bogie 37
9. Desi Henry 24
10. Tom Cave 22

21st August, 2017