Neuville & Edwards win in Ypres

Thierry Neuville dominated the Ypres Rally, winning 15 of the 23 stages in a one-off appearance at the Belgian rally for the second consecutive year in a Hyundai i20 R5. The current World Rally Championship points leader crashed out of this event last year, but this year made few mistakes, building and maintaining a comfortable lead from the second stage to the finish. Vincent Verschuren driving a Skoda Fabia R5 finished second, 40.4 seconds adrift.
For the second successive year, the Ypres Rally was also a qualifying round of the British Rally Championship, with Keith Cronin leading until the last stage of the rally before loosing over a minute on the last stage with a puncture, causing him to fall to third and handing victory to M-Sport works driver Matt Edwards and second place to David Bogie.
The BRC section of the Belgian rally featured a litany of dramas including Martin McCormack crashing his Skoda Fabia R5 out of second in class on the final leg.

24th June, 2018