Osian Pryce is 2022 BRC Champion!

Already a three-time BRC runner-up, Osian Pryce called on all his experience to produce a flawless drive across the tricky Yorkshire stages in his Melvyn Evans Motorsport, Michelin-shod Volkswagen Polo GTi. His performance ensured he and co-driver Noel O'Sullivan secured the win they needed to seal their title bid.

Pryce took the lead in the 11-mile Dalby test under cover of darkness Friday night and was never headed. Despite having the burden of the WRC title on his shoulders, the 29-year-old brushed it aside, winning four of the six stages to return to the Filey seafront finish to add his name to the coveted BRC trophy, joining the likes of Colin McRae, Ari Vatanen, Stig Blomqvist and Hannu Mikkola.

"I have always wanted to have my name on that trophy, it has been such a long process to make this happen and I have to say a huge thank you to everyone who has made this happen." Said Pryce

Much like the five rounds before, the race for the title saw a relentless battle between BRC regular Pryce and four-time champion Keith Cronin. Cronin made a comeback to the British Championship tour in a quest for a record-equaling fifth title and could well have been instrumental in stopping Pryce's charge at the weekend.

But an overshoot in his Pirelli-backed Polo GTi on Friday night would set the tone for the remainder of the event. Despite salvaging two fastest times over the final loop, Cronin, and co-driver Mikie Galvin would fall short of Pryce's pace and could only salvage second. Cronin's unwavering desire for that fifth crown would need to wait another year.

Rounding out the podium was Ruari Bell and Max Freeman in their Skoda Fabia. Bell has shown emense promise this season but hasn't yet bettered third spot. Yorkshire would not offer that opportunity either. Despite being Pryce's closest challenger for much of the event, a spin on the final stage meant another third step of the podium would be all he could salvage.

James Williams and Dai Roberts were back in the older specification Hyundai i20 for the gravel of Yorkshire and would improve during the weekend to take fourth, whilst Garry Pearson and Dale Furniss would be another crew to change steed for the weekend, reverting to their 2021 National winning Hankook-backed Skoda Fabia in fifth.

After being a National Rally Champion runner-up three times, Alan Carmichael finally sealed the title as he and Arthur Kierans endured a dramatic finish to their event, cooling issues in their Hyundai i20 forcing them to stop on the final test. Nursing the car back to Filey, a finish was all that was required to seal the crown. Craig Jones and Ian Taylor also suffered in the tricky Yorkshire forests, with bumpers missing on their Fiesta 4x4 they did enough to secure maximum points haul despite gravel not being their preferred surface.

25th September, 2022